SURPRISE PHONE CALLS

I received a phone call from Errol Brown from Waterloo, Iowa on May 9th. Errol is the brother-in-law of one of my high school friends, Gary Tann. As it turns out he was calling to tell me about the fact that the Optimist Club in Waterloo, IA was going to induct my high school baseball team into their Hall of Fame. In 1964 our team won the local summer legion tournament, went on to Hastings, Nebraska…won that tournament….went on to the World Series of Baseball in Little Rock, Arkansas and came in 5th. Gary and I were team captains. When we arrived at our home town airport there was a crowd waiting to welcome us home and the Mayor gave me a key to the city…What a great time and what a great memory. They are having the ceremony on June 4th….the same day as my golf tournament. These were a great group of guys…some of them my close friends…and I want to congratulate them all…wish I could be there with them…and wish them all well.

Second surprise phone call came the very next day…May 10th…it was from Gary Tann. Unfortunately, my voice is starting to be harder and harder for people to understand me. Diann talked to him for quite a while as I was sleeping. Gary said he would call back and Diann will translate what Gary can’t understand. All this brings back so many childhood memories…

2 Responses to “SURPRISE PHONE CALLS”

  1. JoAnna and George Lochen Says:

    Don and Diann,

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you. We will be send a check in your honor!

    Love,
    George and JoAnna

    • steffen5 Says:

      Thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers! I really appreciate your support and your thoughtfulness surrounding the tournament. It was a fantastic event and I feel so blessed to have people like yourseves in my life. Please keep in touch. Best wishes to you and your family.

      Don


Leave a Reply

