MARCH CAME IN LIKE A LAMB AND WENT OUT LIKE A LION! APRIL SHOWERS ARE OFF AND ON AND SPRING HAS COME TO TENNESSEE.

I’ve been fighting a sore throat and runny nose off and on the month of March.  I thought I was over it for a few days and then it got me again.   The sore throat has made my voice weaker.  I can still talk, but Diann says it’s harder to hear me.  So, if you call me, Diann will have the phone on speaker and she will translate if you don’t understand me or can’t hear me.  Thanks to those of you who have made calls.  I appreciate your checking in on me.  If you call and we are busy, just leave a message and I’ll try to get back to you.  Some days are better than others for me.

A good friend of mine, Howard Hueling, has been over to visit with us several times during March. I first met Howard when I was looking for a building for the office location for the John Deere Skid Steer operation here in Tennessee.  He is a realtor for Century 21 and we had a quite a time finding suitable office space for the group.  Howard also worked with Diann and I on finding the lot on which to build our house.  Through all this Howard and I got to know one another.  Howard is also a minister and has a small church in a nearby town.  Howard is not only a friend, but a good man.  It actually is a good feeling to get things lined up.

Now that March Madness Basketball Tournament is over, I have been watching the Master’s Tournament.  There are a lot of new young golfers out there.  It’s proving to be an interesting tournament.

The committee is working hard to get the plans in place for the upcoming golf tournament.  I want to thank everyone who is working on this here and across the country to help make this a very successful tournament again this year.  If you can’t attend, please pass the information on to your golf buddies.  It’s a great course (my home course) and it’s for a great cause.  They are scheduling for two flights this year.  For all my John Deere friends, this will be a great time to see a lot of the guys that have retired or are still working, but coming in from other areas.  The proceeds from this tournament go to ALS.  Please help support this tournament by playing and/or making a donation to ALS.  ALS needs our support!   Go to www.steffenalsgolf.org

It’s spring here in Tennessee….85 out today!

5 Responses to “MARCH CAME IN LIKE A LAMB AND WENT OUT LIKE A LION! APRIL SHOWERS ARE OFF AND ON AND SPRING HAS COME TO TENNESSEE.”

  1. Dick Yahnke Says:

    Don,
    Glad to hear you are on the mend and the voice is coming back. Diann might get the idea if you have only a soft or no voice it would be a good time for her to argue with you and we can’t have that. Since you are and have always been a good friend it’s no surprise to me that you have friends coming out of the woodwork to offer support and love. Keep on keeping on my friend. You are an inspiration to all.
    Cheers,
    Yahnke

    • steffen5 Says:

      Yahnke,

      Always a pleasure to hear from you. I am looking forward to seeing everyone at the tournament. It is always a good time sharing stories and laughter while remembering all of the good times we have all shared together. See you soon! Thank you for your continued support.

      Don

  2. steffen5 Says:

    So excited to see you all! Love you!

  3. Carianne Meystrik Says:

    Don and Diann,
    Been thinking a lot about you guys! What a beautiful spring we are having, huh? I hope you have a wonderful Easter celebrating Christ’s resurrection! We always do an egg hunt in Cade’s Cove by the John Oliver cabin or the picnic area. I think even my 18 year old college boy still enjoys it! We are meeting at my house tomorrow for our second walk planning meeting. Do you have any ideas or suggestions for making this walk even bigger and better that I can convey for you? I hope that your golf tournament will also be a big success!!!
    Love,
    Carianne

    • steffen5 Says:

      Carianne,

      Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our upcoming tournament. We are looking forward to a very successful 2nd annual golf tournament. Sounds like you and your family shared a great Easter together. Its always important to share time with loved ones as you know and create memories that will last a lifetime as it sounds like your oldest boy remembers his Easters each year. I am sorry that I was unable to get back to you prior to your meeting for the upcoming walk. I will sit down and have Diann put some notes together for you on my thoughts as soon as we are able to do so. Have a wonderful day!

      Don


Leave a Reply

