New Year…New Changes

What a wonderful time we had during the holidays.  Our family came and at one time we had as many as thirteen people staying here at the house.  What a great time.  Now everyone has returned to their homes and we are back to our normal days. 

During the time everyone was here, we scheduled a visit from Hospice so we could all hear what they had to say.  Dr. Bedlack has said that I have been able to be in Hospice for the past six months. 

One of the nurses came out and explained how they worked and what help we would be getting.  We thought about it for a few days and then decided that we would sign up with UT Medical Hospice Services.

So, on Monday, January 5th I was admitted.  It was a very busy week.  We met with the nurse, bath aide, chaplain, and social worker.  We think this is a good team and will look forward to working with them.  We still have to meet with the Volunteer Coordinator, but due to the 3” of snow that has dropped on us along with ice; she has not been able to get out here.  Hopefully, our temperatures will get warmer, as predicted by Saturday, and our street will melt to make it safe to drive down.

 I am feeling okay.  I am on my BiPap most of the day and night.  My voice has gotten weaker, but Diann says it gets stronger and louder when I am watching football or basketball and don’t agree with the calls….Ha!….close your ears!

I have really enjoyed all your phone calls.  I probably won’t be able to talk for long periods of time now, but love to keep in touch with all of you. 

I’m looking forward to the super bowl….I picked Green Bay to win in one of my two football pools for this season.  I didn’t get in the money for the season play, but maybe, if Green Bay pulls it out, I will…..$$$$

 Wishing you all a Happy New Year!       

 Don

“You only live once—–but if you work it right, once is enough.”

                                                                         Joe E. Lewis

4 Responses to “New Year…New Changes”

  1. Dick Yahnke Says:

    Don,

    Your voice may have gotten weaker, but it’s very clear your will and your spirit are as ever strong as an ox. You continue to be an inspiration to all. Go Packers!!

    God Bless,

    Yahnke

    • steffen5 Says:

      Yahnke,

      The Packer win was good one! I placed a bet at the beginning of the season and made some money! Thank you for your continued support during this time.

      Don

  2. Darlene Tian Says:

    I hear you loud and clear. Now remember, I’m from Chitown, so Go Bears (but I do like Green Bay). All the best to you.

    Darlene

    • steffen5 Says:

      Darlene,

      Sorry to hear about your Bears but I got to say Green Bay won me a bunch of money. HA! I hope that everything is going well for you. I appreciate your support. Take care,

      Don


Leave a Reply

