Finding a cure for ALS…. Please read

Hi Family and Friends,

First and foremost I would like to thank all of our wonderful family and friends for all of your support, prayers, and unconditional love that you all have shown and continue to show regarding what my father is going through currently with ALS. We are truly blessed to have so many people in our lives that go the extra distance and impact our lives so positively.

It seems surreal to be writing this to you, as my dad, is my best friend and hero and has been stricken with ALS. The scary part is that this disease can hit anyone at any time with no explanation as to why. It is a mystery as to what causes it and we’ve got to band together to make a difference, raise money for research, and ultimately find a cure.

Since the legendary baseball player Lou Gehrig was forced to retire in 1939 due to ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis), medical break through in research have not made much progress in treating this terminal, phantom neuromuscular disease. The vibrant lives of wonderful people like my dad with high intelligence, ambition, a great sense of humor, a zest for life and much to give to the world is at stake.

If you know my dad you know that he is a very positive person and believes although we don’t always understand why things happen in the way that they do that there is ultimately a divine plan and the universe is working exactly as it is suppose to be. He also believes that anger serves no purpose in life and that being positive is the only way to be in life. If you put your positive attitude in life you can achieve whatever it is that you want. He also believes that life is what you make it and every day that you waste wishing it were different you miss the big picture. There are three kinds of people in this world: those that make it happen, those who watch it happen, and those who wonder what the heck happened. My dad believes that he is the luckiest man alive because of how full his life has been and continues to be. He believes that he was destined to have ALS because he knows that he can help others through the story of his struggle. If he is able to help one person it is worth the battle. This type of attitude is a true inspiration in itself to myself and others in my dads life!

In our lives there comes a time-almost always unexpectedly-when something happens that so changes our lives that we swear: I will never forget this. My life never will be the same. Now I have learned what matters most. And in the realm of things that grab our attention, change our lives forever, and make us a member of a club we did not want to join, and from which we cannot resign, little has the impact of ALS. Whether you have ALS or anywhere, in anyway, is a part of ALS life changing family. Please consider making a donation on my fathers’ behalf to beat ALS once and for all and defeat this disease.

I have been involved in a number of charities throughout my life but his association is by far the most challenging and most personally gratifying to me because of my father. My father and my family is very passionate about finding a cure so that no one else has to experience what he is going through and won’t ever have to wonder what it would be like if you couldn’t, walk, move your arms, or even hug a loved one ever again. This disease robs people of their ability to walk, talk, and ultimately breathe all the while the mind remains intact.

My family has been working on a local level in Tennessee to bring ALS awareness to Knoxville where they live. As a result, the ALS Association will host the “First Annual Walk to Defeat ALS” in Knoxville on October 16th, 2010. My dad loves challenges and always says think “BIG” in life so we are have set an aggressive, yet obtainable goal, of raising $20,000 in honor of my dad to beat ALS and find a cure for this disease.

My dad has taught me that no matter what happens in life it is important to maintain priorities and perspective. I am calling upon all of you to help me achieve this goal to find a cure for ALS and reach out on a global level. Please follow the link and donate by October 15th. I appreciate your consideration and donation in advance. Remember all donations are tax deductible. No obligation to donate but if you would like to I would greatly appreciate your help in fighting ALS! Heres to finding a cure!

http://web.alsa.org/site/TR/Walks/TennesseeWalk?px=2785783&pg=personal&fr_id=6461

Blessing, love and light to all…. May you walk your journey every day in your life to its fullest potential!

Angela

Leave a Reply

