Dr. Bedlack from the Duke ALS clinic suggested….

From my visit to Duke, Dr. Bedlack ordered a BiPap machine for me. A pulmonary technician came out to the house last Tuesday, the 5th of January to set me up with my machine. This is not oxygen, but air. BiPap stands for Bi-level Positive Airway Pressure. It is a breathing apparatus that helps people get more air into their lungs. The BiPap machine runs quietly and is small enough to fit on a nightstand. My BiPap has a heated humidifier so I don’t get a dry mouth or throat. A lot of people with sleep apnea use these. I am working up to wearing a mask that is hooked up to the BiPap through the night. Right now I am wearing it for a few hours every day to get use to it. The purpose of the BiPap machine is to continually force air into my lungs so they will stay strong. It will also give me more energy. We are working on getting the mask to fit properly so there are no leaks and it doesn’t hurt the bridge of my nose. I am doing well with it and my goal is, in another week, to start sleeping with it. So far, so good.

6 Responses to “Dr. Bedlack from the Duke ALS clinic suggested….”

  1. Darlene Tian Says:

    My most memorable and favorite experience at Deere were the years spent working for and with you. I have the deepest admiration for you on both a professional level, as well as personal.

    • steffen5 Says:

      Hi Darlene,

      Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you as well. As you know Deere has been a huge part of my life and I truly am enjoying reconnecting from John Deere like yourself. I hope you are doing well. Please stay in touch.

      Best wishes,

      Don

  2. Renae Says:

    Uncle Don,

    I heard a good time was had by all when Dad and Randy came down. You all are constantly in my thoughts and prayers. Love and hugs to you all!
    XXOO
    Renae

    • steffen5 Says:

      Renae,

      Hello my favorite niece. Glad to hear from you. I wish that you could have come as well but I know you have a lot going on right now with work and the kids. I hope to see you very soon. Give us a call soon so we can catch up.

      Your favoirte Uncle,

      Don

  3. Dick & Jeanne Baker Says:

    Don,
    I just recently learned of your website and the amazing story you are sharing. I was shocked to learn of your diagnosis, but I’m admiring your strength and will to take on this challenge. I would not have expected anything less. Your positive spirit and attitude serves you well, and provides support to your family and friends. We will continue to follow your chronicle of your journey, and support you with our thoughts and prayers for continued strength and courage! May you know that God’s grace is with you every step of the way.

    May the presence of “Leonard Steffonski” always be with you, and remember: even with one hand, club head speed is everything!!

    Dick & Jeanne

    • steffen5 Says:

      Hi Dick and Jeanne,

      Well said…Always club speed ahead. I am really glad to reconnect with you both. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers and you know that “Leonard Steffonski” doesnt ever go done without a fight. I have always remembered the fantastic golf trips we took to Wisconsin together. I hope Jeanne is doing well with her back and has found some relief with that. Great to hear from you and please stay in touch.

      Don


Leave a Reply

